The old Congregational Chapel, architecturally important to the town, was built in 1749 and enlarged in 1825. A charming Grade II listed building, it is surrounded by fine 17th and 18th century houses which survived the three devastating Beaminster fires. Serving Beaminster and some of the neighbouring villages the chapel has been supported in the past by leading families of the locality such as the Daniels, including James who fought for Monmouth at the Battle of Sedgemoor, and the Hines, including Richard who published his ‘History of Beaminster’ in 1914. The early nineteenth century organ in the Gallery is still played on special occasions.
The building was acquired in 1990 by the Beaminster Museum Trust, a registered charity formed to set up and maintain a museum for the town of Beaminster and the surrounding rural area.